Skip to content

American Pain Society honors SIUE School of Pharmacy’s Chris Herndon

The American Pain Society has awarded its 2018 Distinguished Service Award to Chris Herndon, a professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice at SIUE’s School of Pharmacy.

herndon chrisHerndon has dedicated his career to easing the afflictions of others.

“I see this award as a great responsibility to continue to help those who are hurting and to teach students how to do the same,” said Herndon. “It was from my mentor, Walter Forman, a pioneer in the modern palliative care movement, that I learned the importance of relieving suffering as being our most vital job in addressing pain and symptoms, regardless of the setting in which you encounter the patient.”

“Dr. Herndon has a long and remarkable track record in the area of pain management work,” said Gireesh Gupchup, PhD, dean of the SIUE School of Pharmacy. “He is committed and tireless in his efforts to help alleviate the pain of others and in teaching students how to be caring, knowledgeable and adept in the field of pain management.”

“Having worked in practices including outpatient oncology, hospice, outpatient palliative care, industry, academia, and now in a chronic non-cancer pain service within a primary care residency program, this philosophy of care has remained my highest priority,” added Herndon, who is also the principal investigator for the National Institutes of Health Center of Excellence in Pain Education at SIUE.

In other pain management work, Herndon has led the effort to revise the APS’ Principles of Analgesic Use book. He serves on the Board of Directors for the Midwest Pain Society, the Clinical Practice Guidelines Committee for the American Pain Society, the Section Advisory Group on Pain and Palliative Care for the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, among others.

The American Pain Society is a multidisciplinary community that brings together a diverse group of scientists, clinicians, and other professionals to increase the knowledge of pain and transform public policy and clinical practice to reduce pain-related suffering. Each year, APS rewards excellence in the field of pain management, and promotes pain research by presenting awards and grants to people making a difference in pain medicine. Awards are given for career achievement, pain scholarship, education, public services, advocacy, and outstanding service to APS.

Leave a Comment