Skip to content

Several new mayors elected in Metro East

New mayors were elected in a number of Metro East communities Tuesday night.

Here are some key races:

Alton incumbent Mayor Brant Walker was ousted by challenger David Goins, a former police officer.

Belleville Mayor Mark Eckert lost to challenger Patty Gregory, longtime organizer of Art on the Square in Belleville.

– Mike McCormick was re-elected mayor of Godfrey, over challenger Mark Stewart.

– Gary Bost was elected unopposed for village president of Bethalto. Incumbent Alan Winslow did not seek re-election.

– Darren Carlton was elected unopposed as mayor of East Alton. Incumbent Joe Silkwood did not seek re-election.

– Alderman Art Risavy easily won election as mayor of Edwardsville, besting challenger Stephanie Malench.

– Trustee Bob Marcus won the mayor’s race in Glen Carbon, beating challenger Danny Lawrence.

– Michael Charles Parkinson, a longtime police officer, easily won a three-way race for Granite City mayor.

– William “Bill” Robertson won the mayor’s race against James “Jim” Hickerson in Hartford.

– Kevin Hemann, a business executive, won the Highland mayor’s race unopposed. The longtime incumbent Joseph Michaelis, who opted not to run, died on March 24.

– John Hamm III easily won a three-way race for re-election as mayor of Madison.

– Pat McMahan was elected mayor of Mascoutah in a two-way race against fellow councilman Mike Baker. Incumbent Jerry Daugherty did not run for re-election.

– Herb Roach was re-elected unopposed as mayor of O’Fallon.

– Marty Reynolds won re-election, unopposed, as mayor of Roxana.

– Barbara Ann Overton was elected unopposed as mayor of South Roxana.

– David Nonn was elected unopposed as mayor of Troy. Incumbent Al Adomite did not seek re-election.

– Challenger Tom Stalcup defeated incumbent Mayor Cheryl Maguire in Wood River.


More results can be found on the Madison County Clerk’s website:

And, on the St. Clair County Clerk’s website:




Leave a Comment