Skip to content

Area judge elected to Illinois Judges Association


Third Judicial Circuit Associate Judge Martin J. Mengarelli was elected to the board of directors of the Illinois Judges Association at the annual meeting held at Chicago-Kent College of Law.

Mengarelli will serve a three-year term. There are approximately 50 members of the board of directors.

The Illinois Judges Association is comprised of 1,250 active and retired Illinois State Court Judges. The IJA provides education and services to its members and information about court operations to the public.

Mengarelli has been a judge in the Family Division of Madison County since November 2014 and is a member of the Illinois State Bar Association, the Madison County Bar Association, the Tri City Bar Association (Past President), and the Alton-Wood River Bar Association.

The Illinois Judges Association also installed new officers for 2016-17 at the annual meeting. They are: President Israel A. Desierto, Cook County; First Vice President, Judge (Retired) John P. Coady, Taylorville; Second Vice President, Judge James E. Snyder, Cook County; Third Vice President, Judge Margaret J. Mullen, Lake County; Secretary, Judge Diane M. Shelley, Cook County and Treasurer, Judge Barbara Crowder, Madison County. For more information about the Illinois Judges Association, see

Leave a Comment