Collin Van Meter, Informational Technological Services support associate at Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, was elected to serve on the State Universities Retirement System board of trustees by the system’s active members.

vanmeter collinAlso elected was Steven Rock, current member of the SURS Board of Trustees and economics professor at Western Illinois University. John Engstrom, retired from Northern Illinois University, was elected to serve as an annuitant trustee.

Their six-year terms begin July 15.

Van Meter (shown) assists faculty, staff and students with the implementation and utilization of educational technology across the University. Van Meter has worked in the IT field for the past 13 years. He received a bachelor’s in political science from Illinois College and a master’s in computer management and information systems from SIUE in 2013.

Rock has been an economics professor at WIU since 1990 and served seven years as the chair of the Faculty Senate.

The SURS Board of Trustees consists of 11 trustees: five appointed by the governor including the chairperson who also serves as the chair of the Illinois Board of Higher Education, four active members elected by SURS active members and two annuitants elected by the annuitants of the System.

Other members of the SURS Board of Trustees include: Chairperson Tom Cross, Aaron Ammons, Mark Cozzi, Dennis Cullen, J. Fred Giertz, Paul R.T. Johnson Jr, CraigMcCrohon and Antonio Vasquez.

The State Universities Retirement System of Illinois had more than 230,000 members and assets of $20.7 billion as of June 30, 2017. The system provides retirement, disability and survivor benefits to state university and community college faculty and staff.