Skip to content

Two more counties eligible for FEMA infrastructure assistance

Calhoun and Logan counties are now eligible for assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency to repair damage to their infrastructure caused by the June 29 – July 2 storms and flooding. The addition of these two counties brings the number of counties now eligible for FEMA Public Assistance to 21.

With this addition, federal funding is now available to state, local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work, debris removal and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the disaster in Calhoun, Christian, Clark, Coles, Cumberland, DeWitt, Douglas, Edgar, Hancock, Logan, Macon, McDonough, Monroe, Morgan, Moultrie, Pike, Sangamon, Scott, Vermillion, Warren and Washington counties.

FEMA’s Public Assistance program includes recovery assistance for governments and certain private nonprofits after a disaster and does not include individuals and households. FEMA’s Individual Assistance program—or federal grant funding to assist individuals and households with their recovery after the June 29 – July 2, 2023, disaster—is currently available only in Cook County.

The next step in the public assistance process is a series of applicant briefings to identify and report damage to FEMA, so project worksheets can be prepared for eligible work. FEMA provides 75 percent of the project cost to the state with other non-federal sources covering the remainder. For more information about FEMA’s Public Assistance program, visit Assistance for Governments and Private Non-Profits After a Disaster |

Additionally, all areas of the state are now eligible for hazard mitigation assistance.

For even more information about the disaster recovery operation in Illinois, visit

Leave a Comment