Skip to content

Chief Judge Gleeson elected to a fourth, two-year term as 20th Judicial Circuit’s chief judge

Chief Justice Andrew J. Gleeson

Chief Judge Andrew J. Gleeson has been elected by the unanimous consent of his colleagues to a fourth, two-year term as Chief Judge of the 20th Judicial Circuit for the State of Illinois, which comprises Monroe, Perry, Randolph, St. Clair, and Washington counties.

Judge Gleeson presides over major civil jury and bench trials. He has been Chief Judge since November 2016. Presently he is also Chairman of the Article V Committee of the Illinois Supreme Court.

Gleeson, in addition to his administrative duties, presides over a major civil jury trial docket.

As he enters his twentieth year as a judge, Gleeson said, “It’s been a privilege, as well as a challenge, to be the Chief Judge in these most unique of times. From the advent of new technology to the pandemic and now the Safe-T Act. Challenges have been made easier by the quality and efforts of the judges I work with.”

A colleague, Circuit Judge Chris Kolker, noted,  “Chief Judge Gleeson is a leader in the Courthouse. He has guided our courts through the most difficult times in recent history. We are very fortunate he has agreed to continue serving as our Chief.”

Gleeson has served as a Judge since 2003, first appointed as an Associate Judge then elected as a Resident Circuit Judge in 2012. Prior to joining the 20th Judicial Circuit Court, Judge Gleeson was the Chief Public Defender in St. Clair County and was engaged in the general practice of law for 18 years.

Leave a Comment