Skip to content

Three ACT drivers recognized for consecutive years of ‘perfect safety’

The Agency for Community Transit (ACT) recently recognized two fixed-route drivers and one paratransit driver for consecutive years of perfect safety while driving a public transportation vehicle. ACT operates fixed-route bus service for the Madison County Transit District (MCT).

Two ACT drivers, Abron Scott and David Marshall, were recognized for 10 years of perfect safety, and driver Connie Ballard was recognized for 15 years of perfect safety.

As defined by the National Safety Council, to retain the ‘perfect safety’ designation, drivers must, in all situations, make every effort possible to avoid an accident. Over the course of the last ten years, these drivers have each logged more than 20,000 hours behind the wheel of a transit vehicle without a preventable accident. The driver with 15 years has logged more than 30,000 hours behind the wheel.

“The National Safety Council’s standards for perfect safety are very rigid,” said ACT Executive Director SJ Morrison. “To drive for 10 or 15 years without a preventable accident is a difficult milestone to reach. We’re really proud of these individuals for their diligence and for their ongoing service to the people of Madison County.”

First photo, from left: ACT Executive Director SJ Morrison, ACT Board member Chrissy Wiley, ACT Drivers David Marshall and Abron Scott, Manager of Fixed Route Services Pam Ruyle, ACT Board Vice President Ron Jedda, President Mark Achenbach and member Lisa Ciampoli.

Second photo, from left: Manager of Paratransit Services Susan Thomas, ACT Driver Connie Ballard, and ACT Executive Director SJ Morrison.

Photos courtesy ACT

Leave a Comment