Skip to content

Simmons is new chairman of Bi-State Development Board

Longtime Metro East public official Herb Simmons is the new chairman of the Bi-State Development Board of Commissioners.

The board approved the election of new officers for the 2022-2023 year on June 24. Illinois Commissioner Simmons is chair, Missouri Commissioner Sam Gladney is the new vice chairman; Commissioner Terry Beach from Illinois is treasurer, and Missouri Commissioner Nate Johnson is secretary of the board. The commissioners assumed their new offices immediately following the June 24 meeting.

Herb Simmons (shown) is longtime mayor of East Carondelet, well-known for his multiple leadership roles in and around St. Clair County.

“Congratulations to Herb Simmons and to all the new officers. We are so fortunate that our commissioners are actively engaged in Board activities and we appreciate their dedication to make the region better through Bi-State Development and its diverse enterprises,” said Taulby Roach, president and chief executive officer at Bi-State Development. “I look forward to working closely with all of the new officers. Special thanks to Rose Windmiller for serving as chair the past two years. Even though she is not currently serving as a board officer, she will continue to make a difference in our organization through her leadership and guidance. ”

Bi-State Development owns and operates St. Louis Downtown Airport and the Gateway Arch Riverboats.

It also operates the Gateway Arch Revenue Collections Center and Gateway Arch trams. Bi-State Development is the operator of the main Metro Transit public transportation system for the St. Louis region, which includes a 46-mile MetroLink light rail system; a MetroBus vehicle fleet of 24 battery electric buses and more than 400 clean-burning diesel vehicles operating on 59 MetroBus routes in Missouri and Illinois, and Metro Call-A-Ride, a paratransit fleet of 123 vans. Bi-State Development operates the St. Louis Regional Freightway, the region’s freight district.

Simmons has served in many significant leadership roles on both sides of the river, as president of the Southwestern Illinois Metropolitan and Regional Planning Commission, a board member of the East-West Gateway Council of Governments; director of St. Clair County Emergency Management Agency, executive director of the St. Clair County Emergency Telephone System Board, and a member of Illinois Terrorism Task Force. He also chairs the St. Clair County Transit District.


Leave a Comment