Before the Great River Road became the main route between Alton and Grafton, there was the “Dinky,” a railbus that carried various commuters.
An unveiling of a replica Dinky will take place at 10 a.m. Saturday, June 4, at the Edward Amburg History Museum, 950 E. Main St., Grafton.
In the 1920s, the Illinois Central Railroad Company created a unique “Railbus” that operated between Alton and Grafton with stops in Elsah and Chautauqua. The original engine was a city bus configured with wheels for railroad tracks that locals dubbed the “Dinky.”
Grafton has created a replica of the final version of the “Dinky” No. 206. (The original was donated to the National Museum of Transport in St. Louis in 1953, where it remains. No. 206 was the third and last one built.)
Here is the schedule of events:
10 a.m.: Dedication Ceremony for the “Dinky”
11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.: Presentations in the Museum
– 11 a.m. Racing a Pumpkin Seed Boat – Bob Harke (winner of several races)
– 11:45 a.m. History of “The Dinky” – Rod Jackson (collector of tales)
10:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Visit the Museum
– Grafton Historical Society Members on Site to Share Oral History
– New artifacts
– Special Exhibit Documenting the History of the “Dinky”
10:45 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.: Special crafts for kids
The Edward Amburg History Museum is located at 950 E. Main St., Grafton. For more information call (618) 786-7000. It is open Thursday to Sunday and holiday Mondays, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Photo from archives.