Skip to content

Hospitals, others honored for work by RiverBend Growth Association

From left, Alton Memorial Hospital President Dave Braasch and OSF HealthCare Saint Anthony’s Health Center Chief Medical Officer Dr. Dennis Sands accept awards from Alan Meyer, board member from the RiverBend Growth Association.

OSF HealthCare Saint Anthony’s Health Center, Alton Memorial Hospital and several other groups and individuals were honored this week at the Chamber Choice Awards sponsored by the RiverBend Growth Association.

The hospitals were presented with the Perseverance Award  at Wednesday’s event.

The RBGA also honored Small Business of the Month winners from the past two years, local businesses, volunteers and retirees.

The Perseverance Award was given to the hospitals for their work during the COVID-19 pandemic.

“On behalf of our Sisters and Mission Partners, we want to thank the RBGA for the Perseverance Award. The real heroes are our nurses, technicians, doctors and patient care teams who risked their health, wellness and in some cases their lives, to serve our local community,” said Dr. Dennis Sands, chief medical officer at OSF Saint Anthony’s Health Center.

Alton Memorial Hospital issued this statement:

“Thanks to the tireless devotion exhibited on a daily basis by an excellent staff of more than 900, the physicians as well as the volunteers, Alton Memorial has taken on the worst that COVID-19 could throw at it and continues to provide excellent care – to all of its patients, families and the communities that it serves,” the hospital said.

Werts Welding and Tank Service, of Wood River, sponsored the Perseverance Award.

Here is the complete list of awards from Wednesday:

Captain Award

  • City of Alton Parks & Recreation
  • Village of Godfrey Parks & Recreation

Bon Voyage Award

  • Linda McCormick
  • Jim Shrader

Pioneer Award

  • Tammy Iskarous

Perseverance Award

  • Alton Memorial Hospital
  • OSF Healthcare Saint Anthony’s Health Center

Phoenix Award

  • Godfrey Imo’s Pizza

Chamber Champion Award

  • Martha Schultz
  • Rob Schwartz

Young Adults Committee Scholarship winners were also announced. They are:

Addison Denton of East Alton-Wood River High School – $500
Anbrielle Blake of Alton High School – $500
Mary Ngyuen of EAWR – $500
Mia Seibert of EAWR -$500
Ben Werts of Civic Memorial High School – $500
Joe Brangenberg of Marquette Catholic High School – $500
Allie Lively of CM – $500
Kamren Mason-El of AHS – $500
Ava Meneses of Roxana High School – $500
Reaghan Williams of EAWR – $1,000
Kennedy Bickmore of CM-$2,000
Allie Schrumpf of AHS – $3,000

Leave a Comment