Skip to content

Alton teacher wins statewide Early Childhood Teacher of the Year

A teacher from Alton is the state’s first Early Childhood Teacher of the Year.

The Illinois State Board of Education chose two teachers at schools in Madison County to recognize as exemplary educators, and Madison County Regional Superintendent of Schools, Rob Werden is congratulating both women on the prestigious honor.

“We are so proud of all of our educators here in Madison County, but to have two teachers receive this recognition from the Illinois State Board of Education is extraordinary,” Werden said. “This is a challenging time in education, but our teachers are working hard to provide excellent opportunities for our students.”

ISBE officials named Kimberly Engelman of Eunice Smith Elementary in Alton Community School District 11 as its first Early Childhood Teacher of the Year for the state of Illinois.

The Illinois State Board of Education selected Jennifer Bhooshan as Regional Teacher of the Year in the state’s Southwest area. Bhooshan is an elementary music teacher at Maryville Elementary School in Collinsville Community Unit School District 10.

During the state board’s virtual meeting on Oct. 21, ISBE will recognize all its Teacher of the Year awardees and select one of the 10 Regional Teachers of the Year to receive the 2021 Illinois Teacher of the Year award.

The Teacher of the Year program was created to celebrate the teachers who serve an exceptional role in achieving educational equity for Illinois students.

Leave a Comment