Skip to content

St. Clair County sheriff, others honored for advancing transit initiatives

citizensformoderntransitawards2018St. Clair County Sheriff Rick Watson and others were honored recently for championing transit in the St. Louis area.

As part of its 34th annual meeting, Citizens for Modern Transit presented awards to Watson, St. Louis Alderman Terry Kennedy, St. Louis Public Safety Director Jimmie Edwards, St. Louis Alderman Joe Roddy and former CMT Board Chair Rose Windmiller.

Recipients were recognized for their ongoing commitment to moving transit forward in the St. Louis area.

Kennedy, Jimmie Edwards and Rick Watson were recognized with a 2018 New Initiatives Award for a new collaborative effort to help further the safety and security of MetroLink on both sides of the Mississippi River. Through their efforts, bills were passed to support a mutual aid agreement between the City of St. Louis Police Department and the St. Clair County Sheriff’s Department to expand patrols in St. Clair County to MetroLink stations in St. Louis City.

The 2018 Chairman’s Award was presented to St. Louis Alderman Joe Roddy for his vision, foresight and leadership associated with the development of the new Cortex MetroLink Station, which opened to the public on July 31. He understood the importance of an infill station and helped build support to put the project into motion nearly a decade ago.

Former Citizens for Modern Transit Board Chair Rose Windmiller was also honored with the 2018 Service Award for her longtime service to the organization, which spanned more than 20 years. Under her leadership, CMT spearheaded the feasibility study for the Cortex Station, ensured transit was a key component of the Forward through Ferguson discussions, secured millions in funding for ridership programming, improved security on the system and much more.

Citizens for Modern Transit is a not-for-profit organization in St. Louis whose mission is to expand the light rail system in order to build more sustainable, accessible communities in the region.

PHOTO: Kim Cella, executive director of Citizens for Modern Transit; Jimmie Edwards, St. Louis public safety director; St. Clair County Sheriff Rick Watson, and  June McAllister Fowler, chair of Citizens for Modern Transit’s board of directors. Not pictured is Terry Kennedy, St. Louis alderman.

Leave a Comment