Skip to content

Realtor Association contributes to relief foundation, Head Start

SHILOH – The Realtor Association of Southwestern Illinois, which likes to stress community service, came through for two entities that have a local impact.

realtorlogoRealtor Association members, which consists of Realtors and affiliate members, held a book drive for the BCMW Community Services Head Start Program in conjunction with their annual spring awards luncheon. BCMW Head Start is a federally funded, comprehensive child development program which strives to promote a rich, nurturing, learning environment for families of Bond, Clinton, Marion, Washington and Franklin counties.

BCMW Head Started is funded for 440 children in the five-county area, providing services in education and early childhood development; medical, dental and mental health; nutrition; and parent engagement.

In addition to the book drive, Realtor Association members collected nearly $1,400 for the Realtor Relief Foundation at the same Awards Luncheon. Members in attendance watched a video on the work done by the Foundation, while baskets were passed around the room requesting donations. The National Association of Realtors first launched the foundation as the Realtors Relief Fund in 2001, within hours of the devastating Sept. 11, 2001, terrorist attacks — raising more than $8.4 million to provide assistance so that surviving family members could stay in their homes. Since then, more than $25 million has been raised for victims of disasters, including wildfires, tornadoes, floods, and hurricanes.
Today, RRF exists as a 501(c)(3) organization established to provide housing-related assistance to victims of disasters and for other charitable purposes permitted under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

“We are proud to be able to support such amazing organizations,” said Mike Gross, president of the Realtor Association of Southwestern Illinois.

RASI primarily serves the Illinois Metro-East market area, including St. Clair, Monroe, Randolph and Clinton Counties, except for the easternmost townships of Irishtown, Clement, Lake, East Fork, Meridian and Brookside.

– From the Illinois Business Journal

Leave a Comment