Skip to content

MCT Trails among honorees at 14th Annual Center for Spirituality dinner

The Center for Spirituality and Sustainability bestowed awards at its 14th annual Leadership Awards Dinner in Edwardsville.

centerforspirtualitylogoMCT Trails system was honored with the Sustainability Leadership Award. Madison County Transit manages 130 miles of scenic bikeways in the MCT Trails system that consists of nine unique, interconnected trails, created primarily from decommissioned railways.

The MCT Trails system was cited as being one of the most extensive, user-friendly Class One bikeway systems in the country. MCT Trails has preserved 1,500 acres of greenspace providing a sustainable recreation option for families.

Jerry Kane, managing director of MCT since 1986, accepted the award on the agency’s behalf. Kane has overseen the development and growth of the MCT into a multi-modal public transportation agency.

Dr. Billie Mayo received the Spirituality Leadership Award. Billie Mayo has just completed a year as board president of the Interfaith Partnership of Greater St. Louis, an organization that strives to bring together people of faith for dialogue, celebration, service and pursuit of social justice.

Mayo has also been a facilitator for the World of Differences Program, the National Conference for Community and Justice Dismantling Racism Institutes, and the Leadership and Racism Program.

Wolf Mark Veverka also received a 2017 Sustainability Leadership Award. Veverka is a senior student at SIUE majoring in geography with a specialization in biogeography. He is past president of the Student Organization for Sustainability and current president of Natural Connections, a sustainable gardens group on campus. During his tenure as a student at SIUE, he has taken a lead role in student sustainability initiatives on campus.

The Center for Spirituality and Sustainability is a nonprofit multi-faith home for spirituality and sustainability efforts housed in the Buckminster Fuller dome on the Southern Illinois University Edwardsville campus

The awards came at the dinner on Saturday, March 25, at the N. O. Nelson Campus of Lewis and Clark Community College in Edwardsville.


Leave a Comment