Skip to content

14 college scholarships awarded by Community Development Advisory Council


EDWARDSVILLE — Madison County Community Development has awarded $10,500 in scholarships to 14 college students.

The 2016 Community Service Block Grant Scholarship Committee picked students from Lewis and Clark Community, Southwestern Illinois College and Southern Illinois University Edwardsville. Each recipient received $750 for their first semester and, by maintaining the required GPA, the students received an additional $750 for the second semester, bringing the total scholarship to $1,500, which is to be used for tuition, books and fees.

Recipients were required to complete an application, provide a letter of recommendation, an essay, transcripts and meet income eligibility qualifications.

The scholarship recipients are:
Lewis and Clark Community College
Houston Hardimon of Alton — majoring in web design
Virgil Lockett III of Glen Carbon — majoring in accounting/business management
Billy Phan of Edwardsville — majoring in computer network security and administration
Ryan Roberts of Troy — majoring in dental hygiene
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
Adeyinka Babatunde of Edwardsville — majoring in nursing
Southwestern Illinois College
Kara Hasty of Granite City — majoring in nursing
Nicole Malherek of Granite City –—majoring in business
Aimee Pargin of Granite City— majoring in arts
Lauren Pearman of Granite City— majoring in criminal justice/psychology
Jacob Rice of Cottage Hills — majoring in culinary arts and food management
Maricruz Villa of Collinsville — majoring in International business or exercise science
Felecia Ware of Madison— majoring in human services technology
Latrina White of Madison — majoring in culinary arts and food management
Alexis Misturak of Granite City — majoring in paralegal studies

The scholarship funding was provided through the CSBG, which is administered by Madison County Community Development. The department provides core funding to reduce poverty, revitalize low-income communities and to empower low-income families to become self-sufficient.

CSBG funding supports projects that lessen poverty in communities, address the needs of low-income individuals and provides services and activities addressing employment, education, better use of available income, housing, nutrition, emergency services and health.

The scholarship committee members are a part of the CSBG Advisory Council, which oversees and advises the operations of the CSBG program activities. Committee members are Jennifer Roth, Madison County Mental Health; Rev. Larry Wise, Highland Community Church and Polly Curtin, Riverbend Head Start and Family Services.

The CSBG Advisory Council is made up of a tripartite board with equal representation from elected public officials, the private sector and representatives of low-income individuals and families in Madison County in accordance with the CSBG Act. The board provides direction to the Community Development Department in administering block grant programs and participates in program evaluations, providing input into the effectiveness of each program and problem areas that the Community Services Block Grant can address.

— From the Illinois Business Journal

Leave a Comment