Skip to content

Bank awards community scholarships to four Metro East students


bankofedwardsvillescholarshipsFrom left, Henry Lu, Hanna Liljegren, Bailee Ann Warsing and Bank of Edwardsville Senior Vice President of Retail Banking Rob Schwartz. Not pictured is Brittany Pace.

EDWARDSVILLE – Four high school seniors from throughout the Metro East were recently selected to receive college scholarships through The Bank of Edwardsville’s Community Scholarship Program. Each will receive $2,000 per year for four years of education.

Henry Lu from Edwardsville High School, Brittany Pace from Marquette Catholic High School, Hanna Liljegren from Collinsville High School and Bailee Ann Warsing from Granite City High School, were chosen as the 2016 scholarship recipients. The recipients were selected from a large group of applicants based on their positive leadership and character in both academic achievements and community activities.

“The Bank of Edwardsville established this scholarship program 16 years ago as a commitment to the education of our future leaders,” said Kevin Powers, president and CEO. “We are very proud of the accomplishments of the students who were selected from this year’s impressive pool of applicants, and we look forward to watching them progress through college and enter the workforce. Congratulations to the students for all of their achievements thus far.”

The bank introduced its Community Scholarship Program in August of 2000, pledging $1.3 million toward scholarships to be awarded over 30 years to graduating seniors of local high schools. The Greater Edwardsville Area Community Foundation, which is governed by a board of local residents, administers the program with a selection committee which interviews the finalists and selects the final scholarship recipients.

As in years past, the selection committee evaluated the applicants on academic achievements, leadership and character exhibited both at school and in extracurricular activities. Selection criteria also included leadership in community activities as well as the positive impact the students have had on others.

This year’s scholarship recipients were:

• Henry Lu, Edwardsville High School: Henry will attend Vanderbilt University, where he plans to study Biomedical Engineering with a Pre-Med track. He is the son of Yun Lu and Caryn Zhang;

• Brittany Pace, Marquette Catholic High School: Brittany will attend Saint Louis University, where she plans to study Biology and Chemistry with a Pre-Med track. She is the daughter of Russell and Belinda Pace;

• Hanna Liljegren, Collinsville High School: Hanna will attend Truman State University, where she plans to study Biology with a Pre-Med track and will also play soccer. She is the daughter of Mike and Kelley Liljegren; and

• Bailee Ann Warsing, Granite City High School: Bailee will attend the University of Missouri-St. Louis, where she plans to study Biochemistry and Biotechnology. She is the daughter of William and Jodie Warsing.

The bank’s Community Scholarship Program was created as part of the American Bankers Association’s “Banks of Promise” effort, which is the banking industry’s pledge toward Colin Powell’s “America’s Promise – Alliance for Youth.” The bank has committed to America’s Promise by partnering with not-for-profit organizations, athletes, mayors, governors, teachers, college professors and others to benefit youth through a variety of sponsorships and donations.

We welcome news about new businesses. Forward it to Illinois Business Journal Editor Dennis Grubaugh at


Leave a Comment