Skip to content

Several new board members seated for Girl Scouts of Southern Illinois


From Illinois Business Journal news services

GLEN CARBON – Girl Scouts of Southern Illinois held its Seventh Annual Meeting on April 9 at the Holiday Inn in Mount Vernon at which time approximately 350 Girl Scout members (adults and girls) from throughout Southern Illinois elected board members and received a “State of the Council” report from Linda Manley, board chair, and Villie M. Appoo, chief executive officer.

In addition, Girl Scouts of Southern Illinois recognized top Girl Scout volunteers who help play an instrumental role in providing leadership programming and opportunities for more than 13,000 girls in southern Illinois. The theme for this year’s GSSI meeting was Golden Jubilee which celebrated the 100th Anniversary of the Girl Scout Gold Award.

Keynote speaker for GSSI’s annual meeting was 1st Lt. Alyssa Heimerman, who is the operations and training flight commander at Travis AFB, Calif, where she serves as an aircraft maintenance officer. Heimerman is originally from Belleville and was a Girl Scout for many years. She culminated her Girl Scout career by earning the Girl Scout Gold Award in 2009.

Selected to serve on the GSSI board were: Sarah Anderson from Mount Vernon, P. Anne Haltenhof from Columbia, Diane Siemer from Teutopolis, Deanna Litzenburg from Edwardsville, Melanie Mills from Charleston and Nancy Smolak from Marion. In addition, P. Anne Haltenhof and Beth Winfrey Freeburg from O’Fallon were elected to GSSI’s Board Development Committee.

These new board members join current GSSI board members: Linda Manley from Highland, Sharon Mayo from Robinson, Susan Bowman from Highland, Sandra Evans from Alto Pass, Anna Henkel from St. Louis, Richard Huntington from Mount Vernon, Bishop Albert Ingram Jr. from Harrisburg, Sandra Maxwell from Carbondale, John McCracken from Edwardsville, Angie Zahn from Trenton, Carla Nilson from Herrin and Gail Short from Anna. In addition, Jane Childers from Carbondale and Lisa Smith from O’Fallon on the Board Development Committee.

In addition, delegates selected the board of director ex-officio girls who are current Girl Scouts and will serve on GSSI’s board as advisory members. The GSSI ex-officio girl members are: Lexi Scrivner from Mount Vernon and Megan Thompson from Red Bud. Lexi and Megan will be mentored by Caroline Stewart from Belleville and Kayli Worthey from Neoga who are former girl ex-officio board members.

Leave a Comment