Skip to content

SIUE’s Poirier named to National Oncology Specialty Council

From Illinois Business Journal News Services

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville’s Terri Poirier, PharmD, has been appointed to the Oncology Specialty Council for 2016-2018 by the Board of Pharmacy Specialties.

A professor of pharmacy and Senior Scholar in the SIUE School of Pharmacy, Poirier accepted the national appointment’s three-year term. Oncology pharmacy specialists recommend, design, implement, monitor and modify pharmacotherapeutic plans to optimize outcomes in patients with malignant diseases.

“I am honored to be selected to this national board,” said Poirier. “I look forward to contributing to the deliberations of the Oncology Council to ensure that the standards for specialty recognition are appropriate.”

The Board of Pharmacy Specialties consists of eight specialty councils including oncology, critical care, pediatric, ambulatory care, nuclear, nutrition support, pharmacotherapy and psychiatric pharmacy. Each council consists of nine members, including three members who are non-specialists, to the council. Poirier was appointed as a non-specialist. Each council is responsible for exam construction and role delineation for the specific focused area.

“It is truly an honor for the SIUE School of Pharmacy to have Dr. Terri Poirier appointed to the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties Oncology Special Council,” said Dr. Gireesh Gupchup, SOP dean. “It is gratifying that the Board has recognized Dr. Poirier’s longstanding expertise in pharmacy education.”

BPS Specialty Council recommends to the Board of Pharmacy Specialties standards and other requirements for certification and recertification of pharmacists in the specialty. It also develops and administers examinations as required for certification and recertification of pharmacists in the specialty; and works to ensure that the public receives the level of pharmacy services that will improve a patient’s quality of life.

Leave a Comment