Skip to content

Five ousted judges reapply for their vacated posts — along with 41 others


From Illinois Business Journal news services

EDWARDSVILLE – All five associate judges ousted last month when they failed to get enough votes among circuit judges have applied again for the posts.

 The vacancies are the result of the June 30 expiration of the terms of former Associate Judges Duane L. Bailey, Ben T. Beyers, II, Donald M. Flack, David Grounds and Elizabeth Levy. Each had been judges for multiple years, with Grounds a judge since 2003.

Chief Judge David Hylla announced Tuesday that 46 attorneys had applied for the associate judgeships, including those listed above. The others are:

John R. Abell

Roy D. Anderson

Christopher J. T. Bauer

Erin L. Beavers

Timothy D. Berkley

Michael J. Brunton

Ellen R. Burford

Rodney D. Caffey

Jeffery A. Cain

John R. Daugherty

Christopher M. Donohoo

James M. Drazen

David W. Dugan

David J. Ezra

Derek L. Filcoff

Clifton L. Flex

Janel L. Freeman

Jennifer L. Hightower

Eric D. Jackstadt

Anthony R. Jumper

Peter J. Maag

Thomas G. Maag

Amy Maher

Edward T. McCarthy

Andrew J. Miofsky

Heather L. Mueller-Jones

Marc W. Parker

Allyson M. Romani

Maureen D. Schuette

Amy E. Sholar

Darren K. Short

Luther W. Simmons

Katherine M. Smith

Sarah D. Smith

Judy Kay Steele

Marleen M. Suarez

Kelly C. Sullivan

Kerry T. Taplin

Suzanne M. Vogel

Mary Beth Williams

Leslie A. Wood

In all, there are 13 associate judge positions and nine circuit judges — who did not have to state reasons for the recent non-reappointments. Frequently, in the past, such votes have come down to politics or low scores of polls conducted among trial attorneys. Those who have applied will now be subject to a secret vote of the circuit judges.

The attorneys had to file a timely application with the Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts.


Leave a Comment