Skip to content

Leadership Council to salute Metro East educators

From Illinois Business Journal news services

The Leadership Council Southwestern Illinois will honor five higher educational institutions at its 2015 Salute to Southwestern Illinois Awards Dinner.

Set for Thursday, April 2, at the Four Points by Sheraton in Fairview Heights, the celebration will pay tribute to the universities and colleges for their collective impact on the workforce and the economy along with their exceptional growth during the past decade.

The annual awards program salutes those individuals and organizations that have displayed outstanding leadership and have positively impacted southwestern Illinois. With the theme “Growth Fueled by Educational Excellence,” the event will recognize the following as co-recipients of the 2015 Salute to Southwestern Illinois Award:

· Lewis and Clark Community College, Dr. Dale Chapman

· Lindenwood University-Belleville, Dr. Jerry M. Bladdick

· McKendree University, Dr. James Dennis

· Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, Dr. Julie Furst-Bowe

· Southwestern Illinois College, Dr. Georgia Costello

Dr. Ed Hightower, superintendent of Edwardsville School District 7 and former Southern Illinois University board of trustees member, will also be honored for his years of service.

As an added highlight, the event will also spotlight Southwestern Illinois primary and secondary level teachers, administrators, support staff and school board members who have received recognition awards during 2014.

FOX 2 News/News 11 Reporter Betsey Bruce will serve as emcee.

The cost is $100 per person. A limited number of table sponsorships are available for $1,000, which includes seating for eight, signage at the table and special recognition as an event sponsor.

Reservations are required. For more details about the event or to make a reservation, please call the Leadership Council at (618) 692-9745.

Leave a Comment